Oahu Rooftop Solar Saturation and Advanced Meters
This overview was generated with AI from the public sources listed below and checked against them before publication. It has not had a complete human fact-check — treat it as a starting point and follow the sources.
7 sourced claims on this page, none individually verified yet — turn on “Sources in the text” to see each one.
How this atlas is made · What “last verified” means · What “source-checked” means · The full record behind this page
✎ Corrected 27 Aug 2026 Record revised. · 2 revisions in all What changed →
49% of Oahu's single-family homes now make their own electricity — 118,841 systems across five island grids. The utility that has to absorb it publishes no figure for how many of its own meters can see them.
what does this mean?
The strongest source is the operator's or the city's own reporting — an official report, dataset or press release. It grades who did the looking — not how well the project went. All four grades →Part of 1001 Smart Cities — 1,167 documented projects · 🏙️ Honolulu city profile · ☀️ Solar & PV guide · ⚡ Energy projects
Hawaiian Electric's grid-modernization programme had connected 118,841 solar systems across its five island grids by the end of September 2025 — enough that an estimated 49% of Oahu's single-family homes now have rooftop solar, 47% in Maui County, 30% on Hawaii Island and 45% systemwide. The company's answer on the network side is the advanced meter, which records interval consumption and is meant to support future dynamic pricing and energy alerts; customers may opt out and keep a monthly meter reader.
📊 Impact
118,841 grid-connected private solar systems across Hawaiian Electric's five island grids by the end of September 2025; an estimated 49% of Oahu single-family homes have rooftop solar, 47% in Maui County, 30% on Hawaii Island, 45% systemwide, with the share of residential customers with solar more than doubling over the previous decade (utility figures).
🎓 Lesson
The number the utility publishes is the one it collects at the interconnection desk. Adoption is counted to the individual system; what the grid then did with that power — curtailment, exports, voltage — is not reported in any of these pages, and neither is the advanced-meter rollout the entry's network story depends on: no count of meters installed, no coverage share, and an opt-out that means the coverage can never be complete by design. A saturation figure and a visibility figure are different claims, and only the first one exists here.
Sources
Show your work What this page rests on and what it can’t tell you · all 7 claims with their sources · the forensic record
Evidence Passport · public beta 7 addressable claims, 4 source dossiers, one permanent baseline. The passport is unreviewed — an AI-assisted structural migration, not a human or expert endorsement. Every revision keeps a permanent copy under revision history.
Inspect the claims, one by one — verbatim text, sources and caveats for all 7
The text below is copied verbatim from the published record. Each claim names the source dossiers that carry it; caveats stay attached to the claim they qualify.
clm-9199b49d8009d1c0
quantitative
Hawaiian Electric's grid-modernization programme had connected 118,841 solar systems across its five island grids by the end of September 2025
Sources carrying this claim
clm-32c9a6f804990cdd
quantitative
an estimated 49% of Oahu's single-family homes now have rooftop solar, 47% in Maui County, 30% on Hawaii Island and 45% systemwide
Sources carrying this claim
clm-6264a4df90f69559
descriptive
The company's answer on the network side is the advanced meter, which records interval consumption and is meant to support future dynamic pricing and energy alerts; customers may opt out and keep a monthly meter reader
Sources carrying this claim
clm-1ecdba0b85446e58
quantitative
118,841 grid-connected private solar systems across Hawaiian Electric's five island grids by the end of September 2025
Sources carrying this claim
clm-d195901038d4b691
descriptive
with the share of residential customers with solar more than doubling over the previous decade (utility figures)
Sources carrying this claim
clm-b0dc8c9b8301f35c
descriptive
what the grid then did with that power — curtailment, exports, voltage — is not reported in any of these pages
Sources carrying this claim
clm-c722aefd9bbd3c8c
descriptive
no count of meters installed, no coverage share, and an opt-out that means the coverage can never be complete by design
Sources carrying this claim
Forensic record — source dossiers, gaps, hashes and the exact revision this page renders
This layer records what is known about each source, what is still missing, and the exact snapshot this page is rendering. A missing date, archive or hash stays visible as missing.
Awaiting operator and domain-expert review; publication of this revision implies neither.
sha256:e79af8a3689543eaa592437d65970d1947476a799dbe019498edb8b2743b4c88
- 7
- of 7 claims mapped
- 4
- source dossiers
- 1
- publication dates recorded
- 0
- archives linked
- 0
- exact locators
- 0
- content captures hashed
Governance facts carried by the record
- Operator
- Hawaiian Electric
- Actor types
- utility
- Funding model
- utility
- Funding description
- Not recorded
- Cost
- Not recorded
- Ownership
- Not recorded
- Decision rights
- Not recorded
- Exit conditions
- Not recorded
4 source dossiers
Hawaiian Electric — company site (operator)
- Stable source ID
src-8f129b7dbcac4727- Publisher
- Name not classified · hawaiianelectric.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-08-02
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-27
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Official utility documentation covering isolated island grid stabilization frameworks. The page states no publication date.
- Claims linked
Hawaiian Electric — grid modernization (operator)
- Stable source ID
src-e8fc0fdaf4aead7e- Publisher
- Name not classified · hawaiianelectric.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-08-02
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-27
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
A standing programme page that carries no publication date and no deployment figures. The page states no publication date.
Hawaiian Electric — rooftop solar milestone (operator)
- Stable source ID
src-251dc7d99502dd5a- Publisher
- Name not classified · hawaiianelectric.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- 2025-11-25
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-08-02
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-27
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
Operator news release of 25 November 2025, its own stated release date: nearly half the single-family homes on Oahu now carry rooftop solar, on figures stated as of the end of September 2025.
Hawaiian Electric — Advanced Meters (operator)
- Stable source ID
src-8d5f47ca7440723b- Publisher
- Name not classified · hawaiianelectric.com
- Type / language
- web-page · language not classified
- Published
- Not recorded
- Updated
- Not recorded
- Source last checked
- No source-level check date
- Record last verified
- 2026-08-02
- Dossier created
- 2026-08-27
- Retrieved copy
- No local capture recorded
- Archive
- No archived copy linked
- Content hash
- No captured content hash
- Locator
- Descriptive only — not page/paragraph exact
Open the recorded source note
A standing customer-facing page describing the advanced meter, its benefits and the opt-out; it carries no publication date and no deployment figures. The page states no publication date.
- Claims linked
Known limits of this passport
- Publisher names and source languages have not yet been classified; domains are recorded without guessing.
- Existing source notes are descriptive locators, not page- or paragraph-exact citations.
- A missing archive, publication date or content hash is shown as null rather than inferred.
- The project-level evidence grade ranks the strongest source in the entry; it is not a truth score for every claim.
Continue exploring
Compare this project
Explore the wider context
📎 Cite this project
1001 Smart Cities (2026). “Oahu Rooftop Solar Saturation and Advanced Meters” — Honolulu, United States. The Smart City Atlas. https://1001smartcities.org/projects/hawaii-honolulu-grid/ (last verified 2026-08-02). Data: CC BY 4.0.
The underlying data is free to reuse with attribution — see the open data page.
